



in honor of

Nicholas D. J. Lane

# OUR GUEST OF HONOR

The American Jewish Committee is proud to salute Nicholas D. J. Lane for his record of achievement. He has shown dedication to advancing the interests of the Jewish community and in enhancing the general community's understanding of its positions and concerns.

The causes which have been enriched by his special interest and dedication are many. The plight of Soviet Jews is one of his most pressing priorities, as a Member of the Board of Governors of the National Conference on Soviet Jewry

and a Past Chairman of the Pittsburgh Conference on Soviet Jewry.

As a Board Member of the Tri-State Region of the Zionist Organization of America and Presenter of the ZOA Blue White Hotline News Service for the past

six years, he has demonstrated his commitment to the people of Israel.

The United Jewish Federation is only one of the many community-oriented organizations benefiting from Nick Lane's diligence. He is now a Board Member of the United Jewish Federation of Greater Pittsburgh, as well as Vice Chairperson of its Community Relations Committee. He also serves as a Co-Chair of the CRC Israel and Middle East Committee.

The American Jewish Committee has long been fortunate to count him among our dedicated leaders. From 1982 to 1985, he served as President of our Pittsburgh Chapter and is now a Life Trustee. He is a founding member of our inter-faith dialogue group. On the national level, Nick served as a member of the AJC Board of Governors from 1985 to 1987 and, at the present time, is a member

of the AJC International Affairs Steering Committee.

Not only is Nick Lane personally involved with all of these organizations, but he is also particularly concerned that the public be aware of the causes he supports. For eight years, he was news reporter, interviewer and, finally, anchor for Shalom Pittsburgh on WTAE-TV. He is currently Vice President of the Pittsburgh Jewish Chronicle. He is a familiar figure on the speaking circuit, lecturing to Jewish and non-Jewish groups, and teaching adult education classes on aspects of Jewish history.

An avid book collector, Nick is also a member of the Advisory Board of the

Pittsburgh Bibliophiles.

Born in London, England, in 1940, Nick moved to the United States in 1978. He is a graduate of the Highgate School in London and received both a BA and an MA in Modern History from Christ Church, Oxford University. He is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales. Currently, he is a Vice President of TeleCheck-Pittsburgh and of Banksville, Inc.

Nick and his wife, Eileen, are blessed with two children, Adam and Erica. Nicholas D. J. Lane exemplifies the highest standards of our tradition and the enduring values of our democratic society. The American Jewish Committee is, therefore, pleased to pay tribute to him and to bestow upon him our 1988 Appeal for Human Relations Award.

THE PITTSBURGH CHAPTER THE AMERICAN IEWISH COMMITTEE

> cordially invites you to participate in the presentation of its

1988 Appeal for Human Relations Award

to

Nicholas D. J. Lane

at a

RECEPTION AND DINNER

Wednesday, November 30, 1988

at

THE CONCORDIA CLUB 4024 O'Hara Street Oakland

Guest Speaker

David A. Harris

Washington Representative The American lewish Committee

Cocktails and Reception 6:00 P.M. R.S.V.P Cover \$32 per person

Dinner 7:00 P.M. Dress Informal

Gifts to the American Jewish Committee's Appeal for Human Relations will be announced

## THE AMERICAN JEWISH COMMITTEE

#### PITTSBURGH CHAPTER

DAVID H. EHRENWERTH President

STANLEY C. RUSKIN Chairperson

#### **DINNER COMMITTEE\***

Liz Finegold

### Chairman STANLEY C. RUSKIN

Barbara G. Aaron Alan L. Ackerman Miriam and Nathaniel Apter Michael J. Aranson James S. Balter Irving Bennett Allen H. Berkman Myles P. Berkman Edward Berman Harold S. Bigler Eva T. and Jeffrey S. Blum Lew Borman Marsha and Alan Bramowitz Kenneth S. Brand Dr. Barbara S. and David Burstin Dr. Barbara S. Hollander Cynthia D. Busis Sylvia and Dr. Sidney N. Busis Mrs. Gertrude F. Caplan Sholom D. Comav Barton Z. Cowan David H. Ehrenwerth Louis Engelberg Sigo Falk Dr. Karen Wolk Feinstein Alan S Fellheimer Herman Fineberg

Jay L. Foster James A. Frank Dr. Michael A. Friedberg Jay D. Glasser Robert Glimcher David R. Gold Lillian and Kenneth Goldsmith Sidney Greenberger Monroe Guttmann Mr. and Mrs. Bernard M. Halpern Mrs. and Mrs. Irving J. Halpern Mr. and Mrs. Richard I. Halpern Stephen F. Halpern Sylvan M. Holzer Thomas R. Kaplan Joseph M. Katz Vigdor W. Kavaler Drs. Corinne and Seymoure Krause Dr. Lawrence Shuman Robert Kushner Robert Lando Eileen H. Lane Shirley Lavine Dr. Barbara Levey

Marvin S. Lieber Mark E. Mason Emily and Leonard Mendelson K. Sidney Newman Mark H. Pollock Milton Porter Nancy and William Rackoff S. Raymond Rackoff Albert I. Raizman Phyllis Raphael Donald M. Robinson Alvin Rogal Dr. Ellen A. Roth Leonard H. Rudolph Dr. C. Paul Scott Karen and David Shapira Frieda G. Shapira Samuel, Jason and Howard Shapiro Malcolm Sherwood, Jr. Mr. and Mrs. George R. Specter William P. Stark Harlan S. Stone Margery P. Weiner Norman Wolken

\*In formation

#### Previous Award Recipients

1987 STANLEY C. RUSKIN 1986 DR. SOLOMON B. FREEHOF 1985 SYLVIA AND DONALD M. ROBINSON 1984 MARK E. MASON 1983 FRIEDA G. SHAPIRA 1982 HARVEY L. ZEVE 1981 LEONARD M. MENDELSON 1980 ALLEN H. BERKMAN

1979 LESTER A. HAMBURG 1978 HAROLD S. BIGLER 1977 PHILIP BASKIN 1976 MR. & MRS. BERNARD M. HALPERN 1975 MR. & MRS. LEON FALK, IR. 1974 HARRY M. EPSTINE 1973 MILTON E. HARRIS 1972 JOSEPH M. KATZ

Harvey L. Zeve