MASONTOWN, PA., SYNA-GOGUE DEDICATED

A noteworthy event in the history of Masontown Jewry took place on Sunday, September 13th, when the newly erected synagogue, "Beth El", was dedicated under the chairmanship of Mr. Jack Hirsch.

The procession bearing the Scroll arched from the residence of Mr. Louis Franklin, through Main and Church Streets to the synagogue on Neff Avenue, Rabbi H. J. Stern, of Uniontown; the Rev. Kreines, of Connellsville; the instructors of Hebrew, and the members of the congregation following.

The program in full was as follows:

Hymn, Seu Sheorim (on steps of Synagogue)

Rev. Kreines

Opening of Doors, with prayer......Edith Hirsch
Placing of the Poraches....Sarah Epstein
Opening of the Arch......Hymen Bush
Placing of the Scrolls.....

3.

6. 7.

Congregation
Lighting of Perpetual Light Ð. Mrs. William Bush 10. Hymn, Mah Tovu..... Congregation

11. HatikvahCongregation Hatikvah Dedication Sermon..... Rabbi Stern America .Congregation

Following the program, the congregation and visitors were invited to the synagogue, where a delightful banquet had been arranged by the Ladies' Auxiliary. Mr. A. H. Neaman, of Brownsville, was the toastmaster of the evening, introducing the speakers and assisting greatly in the raising of the \$2,000 which was pledged at the table. Announcement was made of the receipt of a check from Mr. Julius Rosenwald, of Chicago, for \$150 toward the synagogue fund.

The synagogue is a beautiful two story red brick structure, containing a large Cheder on the first floor, which will also be used for meeting and banquet purposes, and a sanitary kitchen; on the second floor there is a beautiful large ladies? there are 165 seats, all upholstered in leather, and a beautiful Ark of real craftsmanship; all the woodwork is craftsmanship; all the woodwork is finished in Early English. The structure, with equipment to date, costs more than \$20,000. The entire enterprise has been the combined effort of the 24 Jewish families residing in Masontown, who were desirous of their own temple of worship.

The officers of the congregation are Ben Wolkoff, president; L. Franklin, vice-president; T. J. Pinsker, secretary; W. Bush, treasurer; Jack Hirsch, chairman; and the officers of the Building Committee are M. Pearl, chairman; E. Margolis, M. Margolis, W. Bush, N. Janoff and B. Franklin.