Celebrating THE AMERICAN - JEWISH TERCENTENARY

NEW CASTLE, PA.

300th

EAST LODGE ROOM

MARCH 30, 1955

CATHEDRAL BUILDING

8:30 O'clock

The arrival of twenty-three Jews in Nieuw Amsterdam 300 years ago, was brought about by Jews fleeing persecution in many parts of the world, a part of a pattern of shattered hopes and uprooted lives.

Stripped of their wealth, despoiled by pirates of their last possessions on the voyage to Nieuw Amsterdam, nevertheless, they did not come empty-handed, for they brought with them their Torah, the sacred treasure of freedom and religious ethics which is more valuable than material possessions, for it carried the precious heritage and tradition of their fathers.

And though at first they had to fight hard for the privilege of equal status with their fellow-citizens, they soon won for themselves a measure of tolerance and recognition that set the pattern of religious and civil liberties for the new Nation that was being born on this continent.

We proudly celebrate the Three Hundredth Anniversary of their arrival. The Freedom that is our birthright in America stands as an imperishable monument to their coming to these blessed shores.

Program

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE—AMERICA Assembly

INVOCATION Rabbi Charles L. Heilpern Congregation Tifereth Israel

WELCOME Dr. Iwan J. Gruen Temple Israel

MUSIC Anthony P. Casbero And Accompanist THREE SELECTIONS

REMARKS Mayor Edward DeCarbo

REMARKS Rev. Fr. Francis M. McCarter Pastor St. Mary's Church

ADDRESS Hon. Judge Benjamin Lencher

Court Pittsburgh, Pa.

Please, join us in Refreshments served in the outer Vestibule.

NEW CASTLE TERCENTENARY COMMITTEE



CHAIRMAN	Dr. Iwan J. Gruen Rabbi of Temple Israel
CO-CHAIRMAN	Rabbi Charles L. Heilpern Rabbi of Tifereth Israel
PUBLICITY CHAIRMAN	Mr. Milton M. Cushner Bnai Brith Vice President
SECRETARY	Mrs. Forrest B. Raffel President Council of Jewish Women
TREASURER	Mr. Louis F. Kohn President Tifereth Israel Congregation
Mr. Alvin Shenkan	President Temple Israel Congregation
Mrs. Irvin Robins	Council of Jewish Women, V. Pres.
Mr. Edward Haims	Chairman U J A
Mrs. Milton Cushner	President, Hadassah
Mrs. David Kohan	
Mrs. Hyman Frank	President Temple Israel Sisterhood
Mrs. Eliah Kaplan	Program Chairman Temple Sisterhood
Mr. Howard Love	President, Bnai Brith Lodge
Mrs. Samuel Schwartz	President Tifereth Israel Sisterhood
Mrs. Sol Weiner	Program Chairman Tifereth Israel Sisterhood
Mr. Benjamin Mossoff .	
Mr. T. H. Marlin	Jewish War Veterans
Mr. Gilbert Levine	Zionist Council