Pittsburgh Press
Newspapers.com

Agudas Achim Congregation was an Orthodox congregation based in the Hill District and comprised of recent immigrants from the Russian Empire. The congregation broke away from Beth Abraham Congregation around 1890 and obtained a charter in May 1892 under the name “Agudes Hachim.” The charter members were Soloman Broslawsky, Abe Cohen, Chajcin Cohen, Charles Landmann, Solomon Landmann, Peter Lazarowitz, Max Ostrovsky, Israel Rubenstein, Jacob Simon, and Kalmen Weiner. Agudas Achim Congregation dedicated a new synagogue building at 127-129 Crawford St. in the Hill District in 1894 at a cost between $10,000 and $20,000. The congregation sold the synagogue building to Congregation Poale Zedeck around 1899.

Bibliography

  • Feldman, Jacob. “The Jewish Experience in Western Pennsylvania,” Pittsburgh: Historical Society of Western Pennsylvania, 1986 (catalog record).
  • “A New Synagogue,” Pittsburgh Commercial Gazette, May 17, 1894 (online—Newspapers.com).
  • “Synagogue Dedication,” Pittsburgh Press, Aug. 31, 1894, p3 (online—Newspapers.com).
  • Pittsburgh Dispatch, Dec. 3, 1894
  • “St. Phillip’s African Orthodox Science Church in former Poale Zedeck synagogue, 129 Crawford Street, Hill District” [2001.35.4043]  (online—CMOA).

Exhibit History

  • Author: Eric Lidji
  • Created: August 20, 2023
  • Current: August 20, 2023